Bye-bye, Holiday Break!

Once again, it is time for one of my favorite sentences from one of my favorite books, Bridget Jones’s Diary:

“It seems wrong and unfair that Christmas, with its stressful and unmanageable financial and emotional challenges, should first be forced upon one wholly against one’s will, then rudely snatched away just when one is starting to get into it.”

Tomorrow is my first day back at work after the holidays (I took a week off so that I could be on vacay as long as M. Hubby was). I can’t say I’m looking forward to it. Over this extra-long break, I:

  • saw my brother and his family who were in from out-of-town
  • saw my mom
  • saw my brother-in-law and his family
  • saw my sister-in-law and her new husband who were in from out-of-town
  • had a party
  • had Christmas
  • had our 15th wedding anniversary
  • saw Lincoln
  • saw a bunch of movies on Amazon using our new Roku device that plays on our TV (especially loving Winter’s Bone)
  • cleaned out old financial, etc. papers
  • cleaned out and organized my closet
  • bought and learned to use a crockpot
  • read first half of the book for my online book club (Persuasion by Jane Austen)
  • took a lot of naps
  • was sick
  • didn’t exercise
  • gave up sugar
  • joined a game on DietBet for motivation
  • played with kittens

You can see why I don’t want to go back to work tomorrow! The holidays were a bit exhausting because I had an infection, but I enjoyed all of the festivities and especially spending time with my family on both sides. Also, I managed to TOTALLY unplug from thinking about work for the first time in years, and that just felt so great. I do a crappy job of leaving work stuff at work, so that is something I would like to try to do better at in the new year.

I am going to close out my holiday break by watching the season premier of Downton Abbey. I am so glad I have that to look forward to!

2 responses to “Bye-bye, Holiday Break!

  1. I feel like that too
    Isn’t is always the way that we are just starting to enjoy ourselves and all too soon it is over
    I’m a big Downton Abbey fan too
    Can’t wait for the new season x

  2. We are just starting season 3 here in the States. Loving it so far. :-)

Leave a Reply

